Top Ten Books People Have Been Telling Me I MUST Read

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, and this week is “Top Ten Books People Have Been Telling You That You MUST Read”, so here we go (all books link to their info page on Book Depository):

1) World After by Susan Ee: The sequel to Angelfall, which I reviewed here. I’m definitely interested in continuing with this series, but it’s not exactly on the top of my priority list. Still, everyone I know who’s read both of them says it’s worth it. Soon.

2) Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell: If you’re involved with the booktube community on YouTube at all, then you’ve probably seen a lot of this book. It feels like just about everyone on the internet has read this thing except for me. No idea when I’ll ever get around to it, but Fangirl has been burned into my subconscious at this point, so I’m sure I’ll wind up picking it up eventually, whether I really want to or not.

3) The Fault in Our Stars by John Green: I honestly think I might be one of the only people on earth who hasn’t read this. I tend to avoid books with large followings, at least until the hype wears off, since they almost never live up to all the built up expectations. Also, I’m not too fussed about reading yet another book about a young love cut short by terminal illness. However, much like Fangirl, I’m sure I’ll wind up reading this, it’s just a matter of when.

4) The Book Thief by Markus Zusak: Now, this one I genuinely want to read. You had me at “narrated by Death”. The only reason I haven’t read it yet is that I tend to forget about it whenever I’m at the bookstore or library, other flashier and cheaper books take all my attention.

5) Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J. K. Rowling: That’s right, I haven’t read the last two Harry Potter books, nor do I have any plans to. However stunned you may be by this information, I assure you I’m just as perplexed over why everyone else loves this series so much. It’s not that I hate it or anything, it just never sucked me in the way it sucked in so many others. I’m sorry.

6) Y: The Last Man by Brian K. Vaughan and Pia Guerra: A friend recommended this series to me when she found out I was into comics. That was… four year ago, maybe? No idea why I haven’t picked it up yet. It looks decent, plus it’s only ten volumes total, which is pretty manageable when you’re talking about graphic novels. Again, soon.

7) The Shadowhunter Chronicles by Cassandra Clare: I just linked to City of Bones since I didn’t know what else to do. So far there’s two series’ spanning nine books in this franchise so far, with plenty more on the way, and I just don’t know about all that. That’s a lot. I don’t know if I even want to get started.

8) A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin: This is really more self-imposed than anything. A lot of people recommend the show to me, but I’m the type who thinks I should really read the books first, so I’ve been avoiding the show, but still not taking any steps to read the books. The bulk of them doesn’t scare me, it’s another case of my just not thinking to grab them when I’m out looking for new things to read.

9) Saga by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples: Color me stupid, but I just this very second realized that the writer for this series is the same guy who’s behind Y: The Last Man. And everyone loves Saga. I need to get my act together and read this guy’s work, stat.

10) Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins: You could really insert just about any contemporary romance here. I know a lot of people who enjoy this type of stuff, but I’ve never found the genre very compelling. Maybe it’s because I’ve never been in love myself? Still, it’s not like I’m completely without soul and human emotion, so I might wind up giving this one a shot.

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Books People Have Been Telling Me I MUST Read

    • I’m actually rather new to North American comics myself, though I’m trying to expand my horizons, especially since I’ve having a hard time finding new manga’s that hold my interest lately.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  1. Thanks for stopping by my TTT post. You have some good books on your list. I still need to read World After too. I’ll second/third/fourth/etc your recommendation to read Anna and the French Kiss, Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince, The Shadowhunter Chronicles, The Book Thief, and The Fault in our Stars. They’re all awesome.

Leave a Reply

