Top Ten Books I Want To Read But Don’t Own Yet

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and The Bookish, and this week is “Top Ten Books I Want To Read But Don’t Own Yet”. Now, I don’t see the point in spending money on something I’m not sure I really want, so I don’t usually buy books unless I’ve already read them, they’re cheap, or I’m about 99% sure I’m going to love them. The following ten fall into the “99% sure” category, and I definitely plan on picking them up sometime in the near future.

1) NOS4A2 by Joe Hill: I’ve been meaning to read Joe Hill for a while now, and I hear this is a bizarre and interesting read. Also, I really like the title, enough to want it on my shelf even the book itself winds up being so-so. If that sounds petty, well, then, I guess that’s what I am.

2) On a Pale Horse by Piers Anthony: This is an older one. Basically, a guy winds up killing Death and has to take his place, like a demented version of The Santa Clause. Who wouldn’t want to read that?

3) S. by J. J. Abrams and Doug Dorst: As much an art piece as a novel (two novels, really), this is one I want to own so I can keep coming back to it, reexamining it, and just savoring it.

4) Buddhists Talk About Jesus/Christians Talk About Buddha edited by Rita M. Gross and Terry Muck: I studied world religions when I was in college, and part of me misses the fascinating and challenging nature of that work. This looks like I fairly light read in terms of academic works, plus the whole idea of these two groups commenting on each other sounds intriguing.

5) We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson: I actually want a specific version of this book, the first edition. The cover is simple, it has this haphazard typography and a sketch of a cat in the grass, but it gives off this vaguely unsettling vibe that really suits the story. It’ll be a while before I get the funds to track one of these down, but hopefully someday it’ll be mine.

6) Todd, the Ugliest Kid on Earth by M. K. Perker and Ken Kristensen: This comic series is about a kid who wears a bag on his head because his parents honestly think he’s that ugly. I already have volume two, I flipped through it at the bookstore just to see what it was about and got hooked, so now I need to get volume one and read this thing properly. From what I’ve read it’s satirical, biting, crass, and very, very funny.

7) Doubt by Yoshiki Tonogai: I’ve been hearing about this manga for what seems like ages, and while it sounds like a fairly straight forward suspense story (a group of people trapped in a building trying to figure out which one of their group is killing everyone off) it looks well done, plus it’s short, so there’s no reason not to try it out.

8) WE3 by Frank Quitely and Grant Morrison: From what I understand, this is somewhat like The Plague Dogsminus the soul-crushing depression. Maybe. I’m hoping there’s not as much soul-crushing depression. Either way, they’re house pets in full mech suits, so I’m sure it’s worth reading.

9) A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness: Apparently some versions of the book don’t have Jim Kay’s illustrations, but why anyone would want those version I can’t fathom.

10) The Shock of the Fall by Nathan Filer: I’m going out on a limb a bit with this one, since I don’t know too much about it, other than it deals with mental illness. However, even the negative reviews I’ve come across have said enough to make me interested in getting my hands on it. Whether or not I buy it will probably depend on whether I can get that UK version of the cover, since it’s just lovely. Again, petty.

Halfway through this list I asked myself if I didn’t want to try adding some positivity, you know, maybe one or two books that weren’t about death or monsters or darkness of some sort. That’s where I came up with the Christian/Buddhist book of essays. Yeah, that’s as upbeat as I could get. Clearly something inside of me is broken. However, when my boss reminded me earlier this evening that Monday is a paid holiday, I got so excited I literally punched the air like a cartoon character, so maybe there’s hope for me yet.

Leave a Reply

